Canada wins its first Davis Cup by beating Australia

Canadian Denis Shapovalov, during his match against Australian Thanasi Kokkinakis for the Davis Cup, in Malaga, November 27, 2022.

Canada won its first Davis Cup on Sunday, November 27 by beating Australia 2-0 thanks to the singles victories of Denis Shapovalov, then Félix Auger-Aliassime in Malaga (Spain).

Denis Shapovalov (18e world player) first beat Thanasi Kokkinakis (95e) – 6-2, 6-4 –, then Félix Auger-Aliassime (6e) brought the point of victory by beating Alex de Minaur (24e) – 6-3, 6-4 –, under the eyes of Novak Djokovic and his son, Stefan.

Canadian Denis Shapovalov (left) and Australian Thanasi Kokkinakis during the final Davis Cup tennis match in Malaga on November 27, 2022.
Read also: Davis Cup: France eliminated from the group stage

Second in Group B

Canada has come a long way since it was eliminated in March in qualifying by the Netherlands. The exclusion of defending champions Russia due to the conflict in Ukraine, however, left a place: Serbia should have benefited from it, but since they had already received an invitation for the 2022 finals, it is Canada who was drafted.

The Canadians, who had been beaten by Spain in the final in 2019 for the first edition of the new formula of the national team competition, therefore succeed Russia.

Canada finished second in Group B behind Spain in September, before eliminating Germany in the quarter-finals (2-1) and Italy in the semis (2-1).

Read also Spain, only winner of the new generation Davis Cup

The World with AFP


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here