France in the group of Canada, Lebanon and Latvia

They will start by visiting Indonesia. The French men’s basketball team was placed, Saturday, April 29, during the draw for the Basketball World Cup, in Manila, in group H, whose matches will take place in Jakarta. The men who have been selected by the French coach, Vincent Collet, will successively face Canada, Latvia and Lebanon.

Read also: Basketball: France qualified for the 2023 World Cup after their victory over Bosnia

Third in the last two editions of the World Cup, the Blues will find some good NBA players against them during their matches against Canada (August 25) and Latvia (August 27), which is playing this competition for the first time. Lebanon (August 29) is a theoretically less problematic adversary.

The premiere of Wembanyama?

This first group phase will open the doors to a second phase for the best teams where the French, who would stay in Jakarta in this case, could find Spain, European champions, at the end of 2022, after beating the Blues in the final.

This tournament could be the first major competition with the French team, among seniors, of Victor Wembanyama. The young French prodigy is announced as the number one in the next draft, the NBA transfer market.

Read also: Basketball: France beats Lithuania, the Wembanyama phenomenon makes a successful debut with the Blues

If he has become an “expatriate worker in the United States” during this period, “Wemby” will not be able to cross paths with Team USA before a possible semi-final in Manila.

Before the draw, a major hiccup affected the organization of the tournament. Because of “serious traffic and transport problems”the final phase in Manila will be played at the Mall of Asia Arena, with a capacity of 15,000 seats, rather than in the huge Philippine Arena and its gauge of more than 50,000 spectators, the International Basketball Federation announced on Friday.

Composition of groups. Group A: Philippines, Italy, Dominican Republic, Angola. Group B: Serbia, Puerto Rico, China, South Sudan. Group C: United States, Greece, New Zealand, Jordan. Group D: Lithuania, Montenegro, Mexico, Egypt. Group E: Australia, Japan, Germany, Finland. Group F: Slovenia, Venezuela, Georgia, Cape Verde. Group G: Spain, Brazil, Iran, Ivory Coast. Group H: France, Canada, Latvia, Lebanon

The World with AFP


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here